The World’s seven wonders

A private organization announced the new Seven Wonders of the World on the seventh. The winners:

  • The Great Wall, China
  • Petra, Jordan
  • Christ Redeemer, Brazil
  • Machu Picchu, Peru
  • The Roman Colosseum, Italy
  • The Taj Mahal, India

It created some controversy. First because the pyramids (the only remaining ancient wonder) had to compete again. In a compromise, they have been declared an honorary wonder. And UNESCO is not happy that many other worthwhile structures didn’t make the cut.

It’s too bad that the pyramids are not part of the new seven wonders – they are just as deserving as the great wall or Petra. UNESCO is correct that there are many other worthwhile structures, like Angkor Wat or Borobudur. But that is the problem with all top lists.

The top natural wonders are next. We’ll have to see if Canada is featured.

» The World’s seven wonders

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment